FIRST UNITED METHODIST CHURCH – Quitman 2024 Church Council and Committees

CHURCH COUNCIL

Church Council Chair Keith Zimmerman¹ Jack Robinson, Church Council Vicechair Lay Leader & Delegate to Annual Conference David Dobbs Finance Committee Chair Daisy Bennett **Church Treasurer** Beth Medlin **Recording Secretary** Joann Zimmerman Staff-Parish Relations Committee Chair Kevan Burroughs Trustee Chair Susan Jarrell Programming Committee (includes Evangelism & Formation) TBS by COLL in 2024 Fellowship Ministries Chair Marti Busbee Mission & Outreach Committee Co-Chairs Keith & JoAnn Zimmerman Worship Committee Chair Carol Denson Youth Representatives Zack McFerran **Endowment Committee Chair** Darrell Slabaugh Rev. Thomas Harper² Church Pastor **Operations Director** Sam Scroggins Children's Ministry Coordinator Jennifer Goodson Youth Ministry Coordinator Joseph Goodson Finance Secretary Mike Narkiewicz **Church Secretary** Martha Scroggins Safe Sanctuary Administrator Sam Scroggins

At Large Members of Church Council³

202420252026Bob KingSarah MedlinJohn StoneAnnette SimpkinsBeverly Waddleton JohnsonCandy Whitenton

ADMINISTRATIVE SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE CHURCH COUNCIL

Board of Trustees

Chair: Susan Jarrell

<u>2024</u>	<u>2025</u>	<u>2026</u>
Pat Kostial	Susan Jarrell	Cathy Rhodes
Brad Floyd	Bob Farrell	Mike Gilmore
Teresa Fulce	John Stone	David Johnson

Unless specified or regulated by the Discipline otherwise, the chair of the Church Council and the Lay Leader/Delegate to Annual Conference shall be ex-officio members of all Administrative sub-committees of the Council, with vote.

² "The pastor shall be the administrative officer and, as such, shall be an ex-officio member of all conferences, boards, councils, commissions, committees, and task forces, unless otherwise restricted by the Discipline." (¶244.3) This ex-officio status means that the Pastor has voice and vote in all church committees—unless restricted or limited by the Book of Discipline otherwise.

³ Unless specified otherwise in the Discipline, all listed members (including At Large Members) of a Committee or Council are voting members. (Per the Discipline, e.g., voting on the Board of Trustees is limited to the 9 elected Trustees – with other members having "voice in meetings but no vote.")

Staff-Parish Relations Committee

Chair: Kevan Burroughs

2024 Kevan Burroughs Greg Hollen Robert Ukleja 2025 Greg Eberhart Jack Robinson Sarah Medlin 2026 Michelle Cameron Judy Johnson TBS

Finance Committee

Chair: Daisy Bennett

Church Council Chair: Keith Zimmerman

Lay Leader: David Dobbs
Trustees Chair: Susan Jarrell
Treasurer: Beth Medlin
SPRC Chair: Kevan Burroughs

Endowment Committee Chair: Darrell Slabaugh Operations (non-voting): Sam Scroggins Finance Secretary (non-voting): Mike Narkiewicz

At Large Members

2024
Becky McPherson
Michelle Cameron

2025 Daisy Bennett Sallie McDaris

2026 Sue Bonnette Christy Floyd

Committee on Lay Leadership (Nominations)⁴

Chair Rev. Thomas Harper Lay Leader: David Dobbs

2024 Carol Denson Steve Fulce 2025 Debby Slabaugh Susan Ukleja 2026
Tammy Gilmore
Beverly W. Johnson
Dave Simpkins

Endowment Committee⁵

Chair: Darrell Slabaugh
Pastor: Rev. Thomas Harper
Trustee Chair: Susan Jarrell
Church Council Chair: Keith Zimmerman
Finance Chair: Daisy Bennett

2024 Marti Busbee Annette Simpkins 2025
Bill McPherson
Carolyn Manning

2026 Darrell Slabaugh Charles Sawyer

⁴ A formal recommendation/motion of the Committee on Lay Leadership (aka Nomination's Committee) for the 2023 Charge Conference is that, in keeping with past practices of receiving COLL nominations from a group outside of the COLL, nominations for openings/vacancies on the COLL be received from the floor Church Council floor prior to November's "Charge Conference".

⁵ A formal recommendation/motion of the Committee on Lay Leadership (aka Nomination's Committee) for the 2023 Charge Conference is that the duties and responsibilities of what has been previously called the "Scholarship Committee" be absorbed into the "Endowment Committee"—working as a whole body or establishing a sub-committee to accomplish the former mission and purpose of that Scholarship sub-committee. The Youth Ministry Coordinator should be included in these scholarship discussions.

PROGRAM SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE CHURCH COUNCIL

Congregational Care Committee

Marilyn Robinson & JoAnn Zimmerman

Beverly Sawyer Carol Denson (Chair of "Bereavement Committee")

Missions Committee

Co-Chairs: Keith & JoAnn Zimmerman

202420252026JoAnn ZimmermanMarti BusbeeMichelle DobbsKeith ZimmermanBill BonnetteTBS

Worship Committee

Chair: Carol Denson Choir Director: TBS by SPR

2024 2025 Carolyn Manning Carol Der

Carol Denson
Beth Medlin
Barbara Thompson
Sheri Young
Bobbie Brown
Bill & Becky Mc Pherson

"Bridge' and "Pathway to Discipleship" Teams/Committees ⁶			
Chair:			
<u>2024</u>	<u>2025</u>	<u>2026</u>	
			

2026

Candy Whitenton

Sallie McDaris

Mary Bass

⁶ The Committee on Lay Leadership (aka Nomination's Committee) tried to clarify the work of the former "Bridge" and "Pathway to Discipleship" Teams (and how they compare to the functions of Evangelism and Education/Formation Committees in other settings) – with no real progress or resolution. A formal recommendation of the COLL, then, in this report is for us to retain a place for this/these groups (by whatever name they will go by) but to wait until the arrival of a new pastor – to give definition and title to this or these program groups (according to his/her vision, in consultation with the Church Council and the COLL).